Trisha Yearwood’s Iconic Talents to Be Recognized!
Garth Brooks Logo


Trisha Yearwood’s Iconic Talents to Be Recognized!

She’s Being Honored with the Academy of Country Music’s Icon Award!

Trisha Yearwood’s multi-faceted career is about to officially attain “iconic” status! She’s been selected by the Academy of Country Music (ACM) as one of the people the organization will salute at its annual ACM Honors, where she’ll be saluted with the Icon Award.

Originally created and inspired by the contributions of country music’s Cliffie Stone, the Icon Award is presented to an artist, duo, group or industry leader who, throughout their career, has advanced the popularity of the genre through their contributions in multiple facets of the industry. These can include songwriting, recording, production, touring, film, television, literary works, philanthropic contributions, and other goodwill efforts…all of which apply to Trisha!

Past recipients of the honors include such respected names as Alabama, Brooks and Dunn, Glen Campbell, Johnny Cash, Charlie Daniels, Merle Haggard, Emmylou Harris, Alan Jackson, George Jones, The Judds, Loretta Lynn, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, Charley Pride, George Strait, Conway Twitty, and Hank Williams, among others. Also on that list! A guy named Garth Brooks!

Trisha’s history with the Academy of Country Music dates to the start of her career, when she was named the ACM New Female Vocalist of the Year in 1991. Her status as one of country music’s leading voices was further cemented with her 1997 win in the Female Vocalist of the Year category…and the 2016 Video of the Year award she received as part of the all-star “Forever Country” project.

Former record executive and producer Tony Brown will also receive an Icon Award at the ACM Honors event. His credits include producing and co-producing – with Trisha – such hits as her rendition of “How Do I Live.”  

The 17th ACM Honors will be held August 21 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium. The evening of live music and tributes will be hosted by Carly Pearce (returning for a fourth time in that role) and Jordan Davis. Performers and presenters will be announced in the coming weeks.

Share this story: